Pitter Patter Art

Original artwork created by Laura Kelley, a local Nashville artist

Albino Skunk & Mosaic Flowers March 23, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — lkelley @ 8:25 am

The most amazing thing happened this morning while running with Susan, well maybe more like semi amazing and walking.  I’ve blogged about albino polar bears before, and I sooo wish I could insert right here that we saw an albino polar bear, but we did run into an albino skunk.  Were you just like “Whoa”, like I was?

Seriously, I have no idea why, but it was as if I saw Santa Clause or the Toothfairy.  Like the albino skunk is some mythical creature 🙂  Very similar to Big Foot.  I was beyond ticked that I didn’t have my camera with me.

Susan played it cool and just kept walking…me, not so much.  I was like…”Seriously, do you see that?” and then proceeded to move closer and closer and point and talk loud and I had no idea I was doing any of it, but I’m so glad I didn’t get sprayed.  Susan said I did everything you’re not suppose to do, so I consider myself lucky 🙂  I was just star struck by that albino skunk.  It was pretty amazing…you’re jealous right?

And now that I have totally awed you with the greatest albino skunk story ever…for this weeks planned craft we made up some mosaic flowers.  Pretty sure warm weather is here to stay in Tennessee…I even went ahead and put up all our long sleeves and jeans.  This craft is…can you guess…Easy…there’s just no other way for me.  Here’s what you need:

Traced flower, traced color flower center, scissors, glue and scrap paper squares (we used squares, but any shapes are good.).

First, the wee Kelleys cut out their flower shape.

They all love to glue and use their own glue stick, so they loved this project.  Next they started covering their flower with paper squares.

They glued and glued and glued until the whole flower was covered.

We then flipped the flowers over and trimmed around the back to show our flower shape again.

They then cut out the center’s for their flowers and glues them on.

And now we have some beautiful, mosaic flowers.  I completely love them.  Maybe they will make the warm weather stay for good.

Have a great Friday & hope your weekend is grand.

PS:  I’m still looking for comment #57 Jami Shull (@jamishull)…you are the winner of our 16 Months Waiting Art Giveaway.  Please email me by Monday…I really don’t want to draw a new winner 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Albino Skunk & Mosaic Flowers”

  1. Marianne Cupples Says:

    I love the mosaic towers you did with the wee Kelleys! My daughter teaches special need pre-school and I am going to pass your idea on to her. She is always looking for cute, EASY, ideas to do with her 37 children. They would LOVE this and are beginning a unit on spring next week!

  2. Shelly H. Says:

    I’m impressed with your albino skunk encounter. I have to confess that I’m not sure I would have recognized it as an albino skunk, so it’s a good thing I wasn’t the one blessed with the encounter.

    The flower craft is awesome. They remind me of beautiful quilts. I love the picture of the 3 little hands reaching for paper squares. Great shot!

  3. OOOOOOO! I’m hosting a surprise party in 2 weeks and the theme is peace signs and clover. I am TOTALLY gonna make decorations with you mosaic flower idea! Perfect for me to do while I’m immobile and recovering! Do you think it will be easy enough to do it with those two shapes? Thanks for sharing!


Leave a comment